Shop 

EARTH PRIME TIME: WHAT’S NEW WITH MARVEL NOW!

earthfeat

Marvel NOW! is an exclamation, a reaction, and a well needed shot in the arm to the Marvel Comics properties this fall, 13 months after the reboot of the DC Universe known as DC New 52. The blockbuster movie summer is over and the company seems to be aligning the characters with the now familiar on-screen versions of our heroes. It’s not at all strange to see these announcements right after The Avengers Blu-ray hit the shelves. Here’s what we heard about and read about the Marvel NOW! books at New York Comic Con this weekend.

Shocker! The Amazing Spider-Man is 50 years old this month and is approaching issue #700!

What happens after such a long string of numbers? They decide to call it quits and start again at a new number one.

We were aghast to see this happen to Detective Comics and Action Comics last year but really we got over it, especially with Grant Morrison taking on Superman and NYCC celebrity all-stars Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo dropping Batman #13, reintroducing The Joker last week. The relaunched Spider-Man title will be The Superior Spider-Man, (January 2013) written by longtime Spidey-writer Dan Slott. Here’s the rub though—it ain’t Peter Parker behind that mask, and he’s making out with Mary Jane. No secrets about this hero revealed at the Con, but the new Spider-Man is someone we are familiar with in the 616.

Out with the Old - in with the Superior!

Out with the Old - in with the Superior! Spidey's Birthday Party at NYCC 12 - Art by Ryan Stegman

The aftermath of Avengers vs. X-Men leaves Scott Summers/Cyclops in prison and a new status quo for both teams. One of our favorite writers and Comic-Con after-party DJ Rick Remender is at the helm of The Uncanny Avengers and also the solo Captain America book (John Romita Jr. on art). Coming out from working on mostly covers and back onto a regular comic book for Uncanny Avengers is the art of John Cassaday (Planetary, Astonishing X-Men).

Seeing Cassaday back on the X-Men with a bit of Cap and Thor looks and feels right.

This issue was accidentally leaked on comixology a week early, but is now also available at the stores so don’t forget to grab a copy of issue #1.

Havok joins the Avengers - John Cassaday

Havok joins the Avengers - John Cassaday

Nick Spencer of Morning Glories, T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents and a previous incarnation of the team is back on The Secret Avengers. This book will have Nick Fury’s son. S.H.I.E.L.D. agent Marcus Johnson aka Nick Fury, Jr. (who looks more like Samuel Jackson than his 616 Dad, Original Nick!) teaming up with a very Marvel’s The Avengers-looking team. Fan favorite Agent Coulson is also here with his little bluetooth in his ear. Linking the cinematic universe with the comics is a boon for both in this instance. Spencer writes a great team book that teenagers will be stoked to read.. Fans of Hawkeye, Black Widow, and Maria Hill from the movies have just got to check this one out in February.

Oh and hey -- did you hear the big news? There will be a S.H.I.E.L.D. TV show. And Clark Gregg will be featured as Agent Coulson.

With so much more to cover and obviously a ton of X-News and Brian Michael Bendis taking on a new Guardians of the Galaxy before a Marvel Studios movie is put into production, we should mention how some of the creative roster shuffle is going to affect our favorite books. Matt Fraction ends his 61-issue run on a reimagined Iron Man/ Tony Stark fueled by the first movie. Longtime artist Salvador Larocca, who brought a realistic feel to the book, also leaves to make way for Kieron Gillen to take over the writing duties and Greg Land on art. We’ll miss Matt’s run, but we will likely follow him over to the Fantastic Four and FF.

Another creator we’re going to miss on his longstanding and amazing run on the book is Ed Brubaker and Captiain America.

He put Bucky behind the shield, killed Steve, brought him back and made The Falcon cool again. Best to Ed as he pursues his own career by pitching pilots to FOX and NBC.

Deadpool #1 - Geof Darrow

Deadpool NOW!

The final words on Marvel NOW! will be in a yellow box and we’ll leave the puns and fart jokes to comedian Brian Posehn (Sarah Silverman Show, Comedians of Comedy) & Gerry Duggan in Deadpool #1. There will be tacos.

BUT WAIT…THERE’S MORE! CHECK OUT LEAGUEPODCAST.COM — BOSTON’S COMIC BOOK AND POP CULTURE PODCAST — “Thinking about Comics since 2009″!

League of Ordinary Gentlemen Podcast Episode #130 — “Screw You, Read Dad. You’re Fired!”
Clay and Dursin review their New York Comic Con 2012 experience, Batman #13, Uncanny Avengers #1 and The Boy Who Loved Batman.Direct Download / Mp3 Stream (opens in new window).

Don’t forget our costume party October 27th at McGreevys!

Art by LeaguePodcast host Josh Lingel

October 27 at McGreevys! Art by LeaguePodcast host Josh Lingel

'

One Response to EARTH PRIME TIME: WHAT’S NEW WITH MARVEL NOW!

  1. Pingback: EARTH PRIME TIME: BILL FINGER – SECRET CO-CREATOR OF BATMAN WITH MARC TYLER NOBLEMAN | DigBoston